Print Icon

Volume 5, Issue 1

In This Issue:

ABAI Welcomes Class of '20 Directors

The ABAI Board of Directors met in Philadelphia, PA, in October of 2014 for their annual meeting. At the meeting, the ABAI welcomed two new directors to serve on their BOD through 2020.

May May
Theodore M. Freeman, MD, (pictured left) and Kathleen R. May, MD, officially began their six-year terms as ABAI Directors in January 2015. (Photo by Will Thompson)

Dr. Theodore M. Freeman, MD

Theodore M. Freeman, MD, a graduate of Duke University and the University of South Florida College of Medicine is owner/practicing physician at San Antonio Asthma & Allergy Clinic, Medical Director of the Medical Lab at Lifecare Hospital of San Antonio. He is the current President of the Texas Allergy Asthma and Immunology Society and also serves as Case Reviewer for the Texas State Medical Board.

Dr. Freeman is a retired United States Air Force (USAF) Colonel having served 20 years as a USAF physician. His experience includes 11 years at Wilford Hall Medical Center (WHMC), San Antonio, TX, as Chairman of the Allergy Immunology Department, 14 years as Chairman of Fellowship Training Program WHMC, and 11 years as the Medical Director of the Immunology Laboratory WHMC.

Other posts held are current Chairman of the Office of Practice Management for the American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology, and Chairman of the North East Independent School District Medical Advisory Board.

Dr. Freeman brings expertise in the areas of hymenoptera allergy and anaphylaxis to his ABAI directorship.

Dr. Kathleen R. May, MD

Dr. Kathleen R. May received her MD degree from Northeast Ohio Medical University in 1990. She completed her residency in pediatrics in 1993 at East Carolina University, Greenville, NC, and her fellowship in 1995 at National Jewish Center, Denver, CO. She currently practices in Cumberland, MD, where she is affiliated with Western Maryland Regional Medical Center.

Dr. May is a fellow of the American College of Allergy Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI) and American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI), and serves as current Speaker of the ACAAI House of Delegates. She has been elected to the Board of Directors of the ACAAI Advocacy Council (formerly JCAAI), and is immediate past website editor of She is current and former chair of numerous national committees.

She is the recipient of the Distinguished Fellow Award (ACAAI), 2010, Woman in Allergy Award (ACAAI), 2012 and Distinguished Service Award (ACAAI), 2014.

Dr. May brings clinical interests paralleling the community-based practice of allergy/immunology to her post at ABAI.