Maintain Certification

MOC Part II: Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment

The following components must be completed to satisfy Part II of the MOC process.

CME Credits

Diplomates must attest to obtaining 25 hours of Allergy/Immunology CME credits from accredited organizations every year in order to fulfill the lifelong learning and self-assessment component of MOC. Copies of CME certificates are not required, however, diplomates are required to log onto their diplomate web portal and attest to completing the 25 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 CME credits in allergy and immunology. It is suggested that of the 25 credits, six be in a Self-Assessment activity. Recognizing state licensing and institutional requirements and in the desire to reduce redundancy in demands upon our diplomates, ABAI will accept up to six CME credits for non-self-directed state and institutional mandated CME activities (i.e. pain management, elder abuse, substance abuse).

The ABAI will audit 10% of diplomates participating in the MOC program for CME. Diplomates will only be chosen for an audit one time during the 10-year MOC cycle. If selected for an audit, diplomates will be required to submit CME certificates for the previous year.

Please note that only AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)TM in allergy/immunology will be accepted.

Communication Module

A communication module must be completed once every ten years in order to assess the physician's interpersonal and communication skills.

Patient Safety Module

Designed to assess and enhance patient safety in the practice setting, all diplomates must complete an ABAI-approved Patient Safety Module once every 10 years.