Maintain Certification

MOC Part III: Cognitive Expertise

Continuous Assessment Program (CAP) Pilot

Diplomates demonstrate through the Continuous Assessment Program (CAP) Pilot, that they have the fundamental, practice / environment-related knowlege to provide quality care to their specialty.

The CAP Pilot promotes a continuous process for lifelong learning and self-assessment to keep skills clinically relevant and knowledge current in a rapidly changing practice environment.

CAP consists of two five-year cycles. Each year consists of two six-month question blocks, 30 article-based and 10 core / general knowledge questions. The first block is January 1 through June 30th. The second block is July 1 through December 31st.

For more information, see "Update on ABAI Maintenance of Certification Program"

About MOC
MOC Process
Become Certified